President of India
Home » Press Release


13-07-2012 : Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi

Five envoys presented their credentials to the President of India, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil at a ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The envoys who presented their credentials were: - His Excellency Mr. Michael Steiner, the Ambassador of Germany, His Excellency Mr. Gustavo Manuel de Aristegui y San Roman, the Ambassador of Spain, His Excellency Mr. Salman Bashir, the High Commissioner of Pakistan, His Excellency Mr. Shaida Mohammad Abdali, the Ambassador of Afghanistan and His Excellency Mr. Harald Sandberg, the Ambassador of Sweden.

Welcoming the envoys the President observed that they were presenting their credentials at a time when the Rio+20 Conference had recently concluded, where the global community focused on "the future we want". The President said we must work for sustainable development, with its three equally important components - economic development, social inclusion and environment stability. Referring to the global economic scenario, the sovereign debt crises and the banking crisis in the Euro-Zone, the President said it has major implications for all countries. India has also been impacted by the prevailing global sentiments.

The President also stated that India looks forward to building friendly and co-operative relations with all countries and is committed to reinforcing ties, to finding mutually beneficial areas of working together and resolving differences through a process of dialogue. Tackling threats emanating from terrorism, extremism and piracy will only be possible with the full support and co-operation of all countries. Concluding her interaction with the envoys, the President said this was her last credential ceremony before she demits office, and she looks forward to see India's relations growing with the countries they represent.

The credential presentation ceremony was attended by senior members of the Missions, senior officials of the Ministry of External Affairs and Rashtrapati Bhavan.

This release issued at 2000 hrs.


Disclaimer: Website designed by National Informatics Centre. Contents Provided By President’s Secretariat.